Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

What is the single best SP TB Strategy?

Texas Red

Whiner
Just wondering. I'm quite new to the genre and not really qualified to give an opinion.

Wyrmlord

Arcane
Heroes Of Might And Magic.

For us TBS-noobies, HoMM slides in quite smoothly and perfectly. Most accessible TBS game I know, and yet also genuinely a challenging and fun game.

JarlFrank

I like Thief THIS much
Patron
Steve gets a Kidney but I don't even get a tag.
Civ4
Master of Orion 2

if you like 4x

If you look for something more combat-centered, yes, HoMM is a lot of fun, especially HoMM2 and HoMM3.
Or the Age of Wonders series, very good tactical TB combat.
I also enjoyed the Russian "Fantasy Wars" which is based on SSI's old Fantasy General. If you like that kind of TBS, try out all of the General games, they're abandonware and free to get.

circ

Arcane
I'm sorry for the derailment, but I wouldn't call the Civ series strategy at all. More like, build the more advanced unit and hit the other guy, almost ignoring terrain or unit placement completely. Unlike some other 4x games like MoO and MoM. Colonization had more strategy than Civs.

denizsi

Arcane