Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Playing RPGs released years before you began playing RPGs.

DalekFlay

Arcane
Patron
I started playing PC games in the very early 90s after a youth filled with NES and SNES games. I mostly played point and click adventure games and shooters for a long while though, and the first RPG I played that I can remember is Fallout, unless you count Diablo.

My issue now is that as new releases I like dry up and DRM is taking me away from gaming, I plan to go back and play all the old RPG classics I missed out on. A lot of these are from before I got into the genre and I want to play them, but when I try them out I find them really hard to get into. For instance I have purchased the Might and Magic pack on GOG and just tried out Betrayal in Antara today... they both are interesting, but I worry I won't be able to play them.