Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Grand Strategy Historia Realis: Rome - A character-driven historical simulation of Roman life and politics

AD1337

Arcane
Developer
Hi, I'm Lucas. I'm a former history teacher who's been making indie games for about 10 years. I made an account here a long time ago but never posted.

My newest game is Historia Realis: Rome, a blend of simulation, strategy and RPG inspired by Crusader Kings, Rome: Total War (the original one) and many other sources such as tabletop RPGs.

You play as a Roman, and can be elected to offices in the Cursus Honorum such as Consul, Tribune of the Plebs and so on. You get married, have children, get divorced and live your life however you want. Make friends, rivals, become a priest, a Stoic philosopher, whatever.

You can see screenshots and read more about it on the Steam page. In fact, I just published the first dev diary there, explaining the 'action system', the core mechanic of the game.