Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Has there been any research on the educational value of tactics/strategy games?

ind33d

Educated
When I started playing Mechanicus after XCOM, I noticed that my tactical capabilities were intact even though all of the gameplay mechanics were different. Generating value, maximizing your resources, long-term strategy, etc. are consistent from one game to another, and would also apply to real life. I can say from experience that being good at poker carries over to day trading just like being good at Magic: the Gathering makes you good at Slay the Spire, even though the games have nothing in common. Have there been studies about this?

udm

Arcane
Patron
Make the Codex Great Again!
Not to my knowledge in formal academics (I do a lot of research on education), but from observation there's definitely a strong correlation between game preference and demonstrable intellect, so people who prefer tactics games over dudebroshooters like Cowadoody tend to display less mental retardation.

JamesDixon

GM Extraordinaire
Patron
Dumbfuck
Strap Yourselves In Codex Year of the Donut