Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

    "This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

*out of date* - PS:T 1024x768 UI pack (v0.6)

ghostdog

Arcane
Patron
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
11,086
Yes, Barcap.mos and barfore.mos might have different offsets. Anyway , if you move them outside the 640x480 box they don't show.
 

taplonaplo

Scholar
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
628
This might take a while so, until i find a solution, you can fake 2 phases with gskulon and gskuloff.
BTW i got a weidu script to replace black with transparent color and move it to 1st slot(without messing up the color in the 1st slot). It's rather slow, but u can make ur images brightness immune with it and pack them (mapanel, and gpmos11(or whichever the keybind map is)).
This is rather fucked up, there's a 480box, but my cap leaves the 640 region=/
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
1,246
Strange. Perhaps the 640 region is already extended by one of your previous offsets?
As for your script - good news!

Here's the code to edit the backgrounds for unloading/loading/saving backgrounds, so that you don't waste time. Just edit all the "1024" and "768" to fit your resolution.

Code:
COPY_EXISTING ~GUIDS10.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILG01.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILG02.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILG03.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILG04.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILG05.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILG06.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILG07.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILG08.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILG09.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILG10.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS01.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS02.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS03.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS04.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS05.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS06.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS07.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS08.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS09.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS10.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS11.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS12.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS13.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS14.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS15.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS16.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS17.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS18.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS19.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUILS20.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUISG01.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUISG02.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUISG03.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUISG04.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUISG05.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUISG06.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUISG07.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUISG08.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUISG09.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

COPY_EXISTING ~GUISG10.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

edit: there's also GUICACHE.MOS, but I've never seen it, and it looks like another leftover from the developement.
 

ghostdog

Arcane
Patron
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
11,086
Thanks VO. The problem is that this will stretch the backgrounds for a 1280x800 resolution, so you'll still need to edit the screens for a widescreen resolution.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
1,246
I don't understand ghostdog, which screens?

Anyway, here's the "no disc" background:

Code:
COPY_EXISTING ~GUIID.MOS~ ~override~
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~768~

Note that you'll also need a modified GUIIDP.MOS, and the text isn't centered:

nodisc.png
 

ghostdog

Arcane
Patron
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
11,086
I don't understand ghostdog, which screens?
I thought you were using the extend mos to resize the loading-saving screens, I may have misunderstood. Does it simply centers them?
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
1,246
ghostdog said:
I thought you were using the extend mos to resize the loading-saving screens, I may have misunderstood. Does it simply centers them?
I have misunderstood you. As taplonaplo said, EXTEND_MOS adds black pixels around the original background, filling the rest of the screen. I thought that you were referring to other screens.
But I still don't understand why should I need to "edit the screens for a widescreen resolution", doesn't EXTEND_MOS do that? Either I'm thick or I don't know things as well as I pretend I do :(

edit:
taplonaplo said:
http://rapidshare.com/files/143429520/paletter.txt.html
Amazing stuff! So I add this to every background with transparency and let it do the job?
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
1,246
Hey tap, I tested your script, and it works fine with some MOS files, but not for others. This might be my mistake, but I can't work it out. I get this error: "illegal 1-byte read from offset... in file..."

Since this not very informative, I wrote this, so you can see it yourself. It attempts to patch MAPANEL.mos. Note that the error is present also if MAPANEL.mos is previously patched, e.g. by writing
Code:
EXTEND_MOS ~HCENT~ ~1024~
EXTEND_MOS ~VCENT~ ~695~
after
Code:
COPY_EXISTING ~mapanel.mos~ ~override~
(which is what I'm going to do in the next version, instead of uploading the file, to save space).
 

taplonaplo

Scholar
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
628
I'm sorry, my mistake. I have an idea what's wrong so i'll try to fix it.
EDIT:
Rather stupid mistake(s) on my behalf, this one worked for me (i ignored resolutions of non x * 64, and read a wrong byte which had no effect before the change, but screwed it after, that's why it took more time:():
http://rapidshare.com/files/144490214/S ... t.tp2.html
tell me if it has any more flaws
 

ghostdog

Arcane
Patron
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
11,086
I have a question about WEIDU commands. Is it possible to copy all files of a folder with just a single command instead of copying one file at a time?
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
1,246
Yes. I have done the same in the new version.
Code:
COPY
~PST-1024x768UI/UI_NO-BACKGROUND/guikeys.chu~ ~override~
~PST-1024x768UI/UI_NO-BACKGROUND/guiload.chu~ ~override~
~PST-1024x768UI/UI_BACKGROUND/guiopt.chu~ ~override~
~PST-1024x768UI/UI_NO-BACKGROUND/guisave.chu~ ~override~
~PST-1024x768UI/UI_BACKGROUND/guistore.chu~ ~override~
~PST-1024x768UI/UI_BACKGROUND/start.chu~ ~override~
etc.
I hadn't done it before just out of inexperience.
 

ghostdog

Arcane
Patron
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
11,086
Thanks VO , but I was talking more about a command that can immediately copy all the files from a folder without having to type each file.

Maybe something like COPY ~PST-1024x768UI/UI/MOS/*.mos~ ~override~




EDIT:

No problem I found out how to do this. Just stop at the folder name and weidu will automatically copy all files from this folder into override

ex: COPY ~PST-1024x768UI/UI/MOS~ ~override~
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
1,246
Thank you for the info, and sorry for the failed comprehension check.

tap, I've finally tested the new version of your script. It installs fine, but this is the result:

GBARBACK-1.png


It could be my fault though, that file isn't the original GBARBACK.MOS, it's my modified version:

GBARBACK.jpg


If needed, I can upload a small test mod as before.
 

taplonaplo

Scholar
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
628
I think i know what the problem is, so i should be able to fix it

Try this:
find...
PATCH_IF k >= nFrames - Columns - 1 THEN BEGIN
SET bHeight = Height - ( bHeight * (Rows - 1))
END

...and remove the bold part (- 1)
 

ghostdog

Arcane
Patron
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
11,086
Hey VO I used your extend mos commands for a 1200x800 resolution, and the result is that the loading screens don't show at all, have I missed something?
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
1,246
Have you edited the offsets to display them?

Code:
WRITE_SHORT "0x4f463e" "x"
WRITE_SHORT "0x4f4640" "y"
 

ghostdog

Arcane
Patron
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
11,086
I'm a fucking moron ! I actually put "1200" inste4ad of 1280...

:facepalm:



EDIT:


On a side note , I've found out that you can change the speed of the game by changing the "Maximum Frame Rate" line in Torment.ini . When I played in a bigger resolution it kinda felt like characters were moving too slow, so I changed it to 38 and I like the pace much more now.
 

ghostdog

Arcane
Patron
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
11,086
I've made a workaround with the Loading panel since Barcap.mos and barfore.mos can't yet be moved :

load1vd6.jpg


load2ac9.jpg
 

ghostdog

Arcane
Patron
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
11,086
I can't seem to get the transparency fix working. I assume the fix should be applied to the already edited mapanel.mos , right?
 

taplonaplo

Scholar
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
628
It shouldn't matter at all=/.
Can you explain what's not working?
EDIT:
I think the problem is that you used 0/254/0 as transparent. It's in the basic treshold but it does not get to rewritten to 1st item, therefore brightness screwes it.
It only works with 0/255/0 (RGB)...or black 0/0/0
 

As an Amazon Associate, rpgcodex.net earns from qualifying purchases.
Back
Top Bottom