Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

What makes an RPG good to you?

Vacuus

Novice
Alrighty, I'm an indie developer, who has spent the past 6 months writing a story/desigining some parts of a game I'm soon to be working on.

Now, what I want to know from you people, is what exactly makes a good RPG. Is it the story? Character creation/development? NPC interaction? The setting? Hell, even the graphics?

The reason I'm asking, is that while I know what I think makes a good RPG, I would like people to actualy want to play the game, and thus would like some opinions...

I can post the story later should you wish, but for now I'm off to work. Thanks for your time.

Cthulhugoat

Arbiter
story?

Yes. Examples: Fallout, Planescape: Torment.

Character creation/development?

Not quite, but I like some balance. See Arcanum if you want some disbalancing examples.

NPC interaction?

That would be nice. Still, it's a walk towards adventure games. I believe games with good combat and good NPC interaction as well are pretty impossible. Planescape: Torment is the best game I ever seen with good NPC interaction.

The setting?