Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Fall of Rome (PBEM) Game

EZRider

Novice
Has anybody here tried this game? I just started playing it and seems like it is going to satisfy my wargamming needs for while.

I found a review at strategy informer that describes the game better then I could in case anybody else is interested in this type of game.

http://www.strategyinformer.com/pc/fallofrome/review.html

You play Fall of Rome on a map of Dark Ages Europe, just you and eleven other players, each situated in a large region that you must struggle to control by the second or third turn. The game software - or GUI - shows your region in sumptuous color, with nice icons and the ability to see the world in three views: tactical (a single hex), operational (a region-sized area), or strategic (a geographic or political view of the entire map). You'll spend most of the game in regional view, where you can issue orders to your forces with a few mouse clicks. When I first saw the game, it was the GUI that got me. It is one of the slickest pieces of on-line game software I've ever seen. Using the GUI, I can enter my orders within minutes, and I get instant feedback on whether my orders are legal.