Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Grand Strategy Paradox games : Europa engine vs. Clausewitz engine

zool

Arcane
So I recently started playing Victoria : Revolutions for the first time (I have a habit of playing games for the first time 10+ years after their release) and enjoying very much trying to restore the Ottoman Empire to its former glory. Victoria made me realize how much I like Paradox's Europa engine : maybe it's just the nostalgia googles but I like the 2D map, the sometimes clunky-interface and more generally the old-school feel of the games.

Basically for me, the Europa engine games go like this :

- Hearts of Iron I : played this one years ago and I remember enjoying it, it was my first Paradox game. never played HoI II though I hear it's a much-improved version of HoI I.
- Crusader Kings : still my favorite Paradox game to this day with DVIP installed. I just love those medieval-looking portraits.
- Victoria : started playing now with the VIP mod and, once you've spent a few hours reading the manual and the wiki to get the hang of the economics, it's a blast.

Never played Europa Universalis though as I'm not very interested in that time period.