Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Let's talk about The Witcher.

Topher

Cipher
I just started playing The Witcher this week... I know I'm a little late to the party so let's get straight to the point. I'm somewhere in the middle of what I guess you'd call act 1, dealing with the hell hound and finding a lead on Salamandra. So far it's been all Fedex quests and tiny dungeons but the game has some got decent polish and a nice attention to detail so I can look past those problems but what I can't look past is the awful combat. Quite frankly it's shit. If a game is going to burden the player with atrocious combat it should at least have the decency to make it as laid back and as hands off as possible, like the infinity engine games. Anyway, The Witcher has got a lot of features to like but the combat really brings it down for me.

Should I set it to easy and restart from the begging? Just keep trucking because it get's better somehow? or just say fuck it and play something else? Is the game worth trucking through the bad combat for? I've heard that the first town makes a pretty bad first impression.

DraQ

Arcane
Topher said: