Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Avernum 5

Severian Silk

I started playing Avernum 5, and I'm not really enjoying it that much. It's not that I dislike it, it's just not living up to expectations after hearing all the praise here for the series.

Most of the quests so far seem like very simple "Plzzz heero, kill rat or univers splode!!1" quests. Some of them would be interesting, except they are limited to one or two tasks, a few short dialogue strings, and then you never see/hear from the character again. Not much of an emotional investment, and actually bordering on tedium.

The combat is OK. Better than your average roguelike at least, and about the only thing keeping me going right now.

Does it get better later on as it progresses?

SCO

Arcane
In My Safe Space
Shadorwun: Hong Kong