Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Any Maniac Mansion Clones?

Siobhan

Arbiter
I'm a huge noob when it comes to adventure games, so this might be a very ignorant question:

For the longest time I only knew the 90s classics like Monkey Island, Day of the Tentacle, Gabriel Knight, Discworld, etc, and they always struck me as dull non-games. Only recently have I found some games in the genre that I like, e.g. Shadowgate. But the best entry imho is Maniac Mansion because it has

- flexible party,
- non-linear exploration,
- some navigation puzzles,
- multiple solutions for some puzzles,
- dynamic world on a timer,
- very little dialog and story,
- amazing atmosphere,
- some actual failure states.

In many respects it feels more like a dungeon crawler without combat than a point-and-click adventure. Other games like Myst, early King's Quest and the ICOM games check some of those boxes, but not all of them. So, is Maniac Mansion one of a kind or are there any clones? If not, why didn't the success of Maniac Mansion spawn the usual copycats?

For the record, I looked at the supposed spiritual successor Thimbleweed Park, but that seems to just be your standard point'n'click adventure.

Unkillable Cat

LEST WE FORGET
Patron