Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

What is your favorite character class to play?

Invictus

Arcane
The Real Fanboy
Divinity: Original Sin 2
When I started playing computer RPGs as a kid with Hero’s Quest you had the chance to play as the 3 base RPG archetypes of warrior, thief and mage but I usually played a mix of all for example a magic welding thief or a sneaky fighter. Games like the Summoning had you play a Jack of all Trades character who had to have figher skills but also magic so that was pretty much decided from the start.
Series like the Goldbox games, Might and Magic or Wizardry had you make a party of adventurers, and while you could mix and match weird party compositions those games were balanced around having fighters and rangers and mages etc

I think the first series that allowed me to pick my main character’s class were Ultima and The Elder Scrolls
Daggerfall was the first game to truly offer a pen and paper experience of picking skills, traits and truly allow to customize your character to your liking