Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

RPG Recommendations

Taelyn

Literate
Hi. I am very new to RPGs, I've only been playing the ones like these for a year or two lol. I really liked Baldur's Gate, does anyone have any recommendations for me?

Alkarl

Learned
Might & Magic series (I highly recommend 6 if you only have time for one atm)

Goldbox D&D games (Pool of Radiance for sure)

Wizardry 6-7-8 (Picking one over the other is like forcing me to pick between my kids .. Go with 7!)

Demon's Souls (For some hacky-slashy fun, I personally prefer Demon's over any other entry)

Ultima 4 (I submit this one to everyone, especially if you're interested in game design)

Ultima Underworld (Its a good old game, just try it)

Fallout (The first one is certainly worth it's mileage)

Other than that, check the top 50/70 list here on the Codex.

Catacombs

Arcane
Patron
Divinity: Original Sin 1 and 2
Mount & Blade: Warband
Knights of the Chalice
Caves of Qud
The Witcher Series (Play the third if you don't want to play the others)
Underrail
Brouge
The Banner Saga 1 and 2 (3 is coming out this year)
Icewind Dale 1 and 2

Last edited:

Alex

Arcane