Putting the 'role' back in role-playing games since 2002.
Donate to Codex
Good Old Games
  • Welcome to rpgcodex.net, a site dedicated to discussing computer based role-playing games in a free and open fashion. We're less strict than other forums, but please refer to the rules.

"This message is awaiting moderator approval": All new users must pass through our moderation queue before they will be able to post normally. Until your account has "passed" your posts will only be visible to yourself (and moderators) until they are approved. Give us a week to get around to approving / deleting / ignoring your mundane opinion on crap before hassling us about it. Once you have passed the moderation period (think of it as a test), you will be able to post normally, just like all the other retards.

Why are developers so afraid of making night actually *dark*?

Ebonsword

Arcane
I started playing Arcania recently, and, while it has quite a few other flaws, the one that triggered me the most is that midnight with a cloudy sky is more like twilight.

Seriously, look at this:

rev_nightcastle_1280.jpg

But it's not like this game is the only one guilty of this. Night time in Skyrim is not too dissimilar:

-1921622453.jpg

And then there's Kingdoms of Amalur, which was so bad I sometimes couldn't tell if it was supposed to be night or not:

Night.jpg

Contrast this with Dragon's Dogma which used darkness to *fantastic* effect:

Dragons-Dogma-1.jpg

So, what the hell is wrong with developers? Do they *not* want their games to actually have some atmosphere? Or are they just afraid that the casuals will complain about not being able to see?

FeelTheRads

Arcane
Because it's usually just a gimmick that barely affects the gameplay if at all and it's annoying to not see just because of "immershun". It's one thing I'm happy they don't do. Sure, might as well just remove the day/night cycle completely if it doesn't do anything but eh.

octavius

Arcane
Patron